REMINDER THAT SIGNUP FOR THE ADVANCED COURSE ENDS THIS COMING MONDAY.

Please have all funds transferred to ve9cb@nullrac.ca through interac email money transfer or bring cash or cheque payable to FARC on the meeting Monday 9th of April!

Starting on 1 May 2018, FARC will run it’s first Advanced Certificate Course!

Cost: $75.00 

Cost includes:

  • The 2nd Edition Canadian Amateur Radio Advanced Qualification Study Guide! (Spring 2017) from Coax Publications
  • The Costs of The Examination
If you already a copy of the Advanced Study Guide, your costs will only be $25.00. You are responsible to provide pen, paper, and a receptive frame of mind!

Registration: Due this Monday at the latest! (Monday April 9th, 2018) Either send an Interac E-Transfer (to ve9cb@nullrac.ca) or bring cash or a cheque payable to FARC to the Monday 9 April meeting of FARC .  I will order the required study guides that evening after the meeting.

Classes: All classes will be in the Boardroom of the Victoria Health Centre, 65 Brunswick Street, Fredericton from 7pm to 9:30pm on the following dates:

Tuesday 1 May
Monday 7 May
Thursday 10 May
Tuesday 15 May
Thursday 17 May
Monday 21 May (Note: Victoria Day)
Thursday 24 May
Tuesday 29 May
Thursday 31 May
Monday 4 June
Tuesday 12 June
Thursday 14 June – ADVANCED EXAMINATION by Art VE9BP

IMG_3290

“On Sunday 5 November, FARC’s Basic Certificate class and their instructors got together to build antennas. Each of our soon-to-be Hams left with their own 40/20m dipoles which they can put up at home. Here you can see them tuning the antennas.”


CBC Radio 1’s “Day 6” program, there is a five-minute story on the a group on high-school students in New York City who are involved in the emergency communications effort to help the American Red Cross, in the wake of hurricane Irma’s damage.

You can hear it here: http://www.cbc.ca/radio/popup/audio/listen.html?autoPlay=true&clipIds=&mediaIds=1064462403651&U=%5Bobject%20Object%5D&contentarea=radio&subsection1=radio1&subsection2=entertainment&subsection3=day_6&contenttype=audio

Submitted by Dave, VE9CB